Home > bossam, manual > Creating OwlTrMReasoner

Creating OwlTrMReasoner

February 7, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

OwlTrMReasoner is a new OWL-DL reasoner added to Bossam. This reasoner is the most recommended OWL reasoner among the reasoners provided by Bossam. The following is the sample codes for creating and utilizing the reasoner.

// Create a reasoner
IReasonerFactory factory = ReasonerFactory.getInstance();
IReasoner r = factory.createOwlDlTrMReasoner();
// Load an ontology
r.load(IReasoner.OWL, "....");
// Perform a silent reasoning session, 
//  which does not return conclusions
r.silentRun();
Categories: bossam, manual
  1. José Manuel
    April 18, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    I’m currently using Jena as framework for OWL-ontology research, but I’m not convinced about its reasoner so I try bossam and likes much more than Jena reasoners. Now I’m trying to figure out how to use bossam as an engine and Jena for manipulating the ontologies, it’s any way to do so? If not, it’s possible to manipulate the ontology (add/delete classes, properties….) from within bossam’s api?

    Thanks.

  2. April 19, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Thanks so much for your nice comment about bossam! Currently, bossam does not have APIs for manipulating OWL models. Bossam does not plug into Jena, either. Would it be ok if I provide an API for perfoming reasoning over Jena memory models?

  3. José Manuel
    April 20, 2007 at 6:14 am

    Thanks to you, for your great work.

    For me such an API would be great. That would allow me infer things modify the ontology according to these results… I even thought to implent a RETE like engine myself, but my Thesis is not about build such thing, moreover I don’t have the time for the 2 things. So if you could do that I’ll be very grateful to you, and glad to say bye to Jena engines.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

